To The Girl Next Door

collegeI love college.

With as much as I post on social media, and take pictures I have to admit that I am pretty blessed. I am completely surrounded by positive friends, an uplifting residential and spiritual life staff, and an incredibly encouraging athletic program.

Just like an other typical college girl I love hanging out with my friends on the weekends, trying out new things, and making memories, but I believe that there is something different between my college experience and many others. I am pushed, challenged, and tempted to strengthen my faith every single day in every way as possible. Thankfully, I have an amazing support system of so many wonderful people in my life to push me along the way.

My biggest hope goes out to the fellow girl next door who will one day undestand when she gets to college, that one day she will understand that there is so much more to this experience than partying, the boys that she dates, and the grades on her next exam.

Sure we all want to have fun, but what does God say about drunkeness? God tells us in the book of Ephesians that getting drunk can ruin our lives! College is hard. I’ll admit I have had some nights where I ended up in tears because I felt like I wasn’t smart enough, and couldn’t do this anymore, but that didn’t mean that I needed to submit to entering my body in an oblivious state of mind where I would temporarily forget it all. There are SO many ways to clear your mind, and build your confidence. It is through God, alone, that we are able to see that there’s so much more to life

Jeremiah 29:11,”For I know the plans I have for you”, says the LORD. They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope. God is so faithful in His doing, and we don’t have to take things out on our own hands because we are at our lowest point. He’s got this!

Boys. Now listen here pretty girl, if any boy is worth five minutes of your time he better make that known within the day of meeting you. Relationships in college are definitely a learning experience, but they aren’t what all college is about. Trust me, I know how annoying it can get with the “M.R.S. Degrees” and the “Ring by Springs”. Truth is you never know what is going on in a relationship until you fully experience it. I honestly wish I could fully erase from my memory some of the dates that I went on during my time so far in college. If this is the first time that you’ve been asked out before, go. Have fun, but know your limits. You are so precious, and your tears won’t be worth whatever that boy is deceving you with. If you really want the right guy to walk into your life, pray about him! Personally, I believe if you really want to date someone you should be looking at him to potentially marry him. If that aligns right up with what you want look to the Lord.

Psalm 37:4, “Submit yourselves to the Lord, and He will give you the desires of your heart”. If this is truly God’s will, and you believe that this boy is the one, God will make it happen. Just please take your time, and pray. It’s okay to have fun too :).

Having fun, boys, and enjoying our time being young is great, but why are we here again? Oh yeah, we’re getting our degrees to one day become grown ups in the real world. I’m a COMM major, and I love it. And yes it is NOT easy- shout out to the fellow commies! Every college student- we all have exams, speeches, presentations, experiments, etc that we need to complete within a certain amount of time. And yes it is hard! Balancing your time, sleep, and other commitments is not fun. It has taught me though how to be flexible, and not to stress out over one grade. Yes, grades are important and we do not want to be a super senior, but worrying isn’t cool either. I know that I have had my fair share of frustration, anxiety, and worrying about it all too. What does God say about worrying again?

“Don’t worry about anything; instead pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank Him for all that He has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus”, Philippians 4:6-7.

I know the typical “college experience”, boys, and good grades seem to be some of the highlights of what college is all about. After my almost three full years I have to say that the things that have really made an impact in my life so far here are the people that have been here with me every step of the way. Within ten years you will more than likely forget about that party that you missed out on, that date that you went out on that was super awkward, and that one test that you completely flunked. What you will remember are the people that had stuck by your side every step of the way, and encouraged you through it.

To the girl next door,

Please don’t stress. This time will come, but be prepared. Have fun, and enjoy it. It’s okay to make mistakes, but be smart. Above all else, trust God- with Him by your side you’re going far.

You got this.

xoxo- Brooke Allison

Leave a Reply

