Life is Not a Competition

Something that has really been on my heart lately are my friends.

I am so thankful to say that I have some pretty cool people in my life, you know who you are ;). Something that I have learned quite recently is that for our generation it is pretty hard to be happy for others when things aren’t going in our favor.

Considering my peers, and the environment that I live in, it seems like everyday life is a competition. We are constantly told that we need to be the best. We need to be #1. I’m a college student, a student athlete, and I’m also already working a few sides jobs. From my viewpoint of this world, I see society feeding us competition as if it is vital for success in life. If there is anything that I have learned in all of my 21 years of life it is that life is not a competition.

Sure, it’s awesome that we won our last game against one of the most hardest teams in our conference, and it might be pretty cool that we received the highest score on that last test in biology. And maybe what really is keeping you going is that cute boy that you met finally sent you that Facebook request. Congratulations, you finally reached success in your life. Just kidding, but on a real note- why do we often look for these areas in our lives as mile stones to keep us going? If things don’t go in our way specifically in unimportant areas like these, do we let them raid our lives, and our mental beings? I would surely hope not.

I believe that our generation has become so distorted and diffused with these misconceptions that we have to constantly have the “best” or be the “best” at things that don’t even matter that we actually forget the important things in life.

Things that I find important currently in my life are finding extra times in my day to continue reading my Bible, setting aside one on one times with my friends, and high school students to catch up with about life, and laughing. I love laughing. I love smiling. I love being able to enjoy life with those around me because of the love that Christ granted to us when He first made that as the sacrifice for us.

Is life really about how many games you won, the tests that you aced, and the dates that you went out on? Is it really about how many arguments that you believed you were right in, and the “titles” you have gained? NO!

I believe that because of the distortions and confusion that society has obtained today we have forgot the true meaning about joy, how to be joyful, and how to be joyful for others. I find it so sad when others are not able to possess such a beautiful trait for those that care about them, or even that they care about the most because they are often either confused, hurt, or lost in another way of life. It is my biggest hope that one day those people, and even current friends of mine are able to find that true meaning of joy and are able to spread that to others.

Romas 12:15 tells us to be happy for those that are happy!

Your best friend got engaged, be happy for her! She is about to experience this next stage of life, and you get to be a part of that! Another friend finally got a grade above average on your last math exam. So what, he made of got a grade higher than yours, be happy for him! He needed that. Your parents won a paid vacation to Jamaica, but they want to be alone to strengthen their own relationship rather than taking the whole family. Encourage them that you’re okay with it. They need their strength, renewal, and also some relaxation too. Look for the joy in these situations rather than being bitter, and how you could of benefitted from it.

Show love, and let your light shine. Remember the love that we try to reflect from Christ

Corinthians 13:4-8New Living Translation (NLT)

Love is patient and kind. Love is not jealous or boastful or proud or rude. It does not demand its own way. It is not irritable, and it keeps no record of being wronged. It does not rejoice about injustice but rejoices whenever the truth wins out. Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance.

Prophecy and speaking in unknown languages[a] and special knowledge will become useless. But love will last forever!

walk

Weekly Challenge:

All in all, love wins in the end. Don’t waste another minute being negative, bitter, or giving someone that you care for the cold shoulder. Do as Christ would and love. Life isn’t a competition. The journey is often more important than the outcome.

xoxo- BrookeAllison ♥

Leave a Reply

