Are We There Yet?

There are only about three more weeks until the end of the school year.

Projects, exams, and presentations are continuously filling our minds with stress and overwhelming sensations that we are just trying to survive. Being a college student isn’t easy- let’s be honest. However, during this time we aren’t looking at the bigger picture at all. Myself being a PR kid, I always try to look at the bigger picture and see what exactly it is that I want. I want to gain something from my classes, but I also want to enjoy my experience. I’m finishing up my junior year within these last few weeks. Lately, I have been pushing about four hours of sleep every night- five if I’m lucky, getting lunch becomes a privilege, and hoodies and leggings have become my best friends. Personally, I know that I am ready for this semester to be over, but then I come to this point and realize…

I’m going to be a senior.

I only have one more year left of my undergrad to go to classes, write endless papers, and rant about homework that I find ridiculous. Then I realize I also only have one more year of going to Ollies Follies, play my final matches as an athlete, and seeing the people that I love the most almost every single day out of the year. College has taught me so much, but the school that I not only chose to go to, but the school that God was leading me to changed my life. I have had my share of bad days where I just wanted to curl up in a ball and cry because I didn’t think that I could go on anymore, but I learned how to overcome that here. Olivet has taught me that I am strong enough, smart enough, and capable of doing whatever is thrown my way because God has brought me to it, and He will bring me through it.

My college experience wasn’t perfect, but it was worth it. I have been completely surrounded by encouragement, love, and prayer since the moment I have set foot on this campus and I couldn’t be anymore grateful. So some advice from a soon to be senior, don’t miss a minute of this experience. Sure, you will get caught up in your work, studying, and reading and you will have some days where you want to pull your hair out. However, this time of your life will be filled with so many experiences, opportunities, and growth that it will be worth it! You will learn that you were stronger than your obstacles because you overcame it!

The next time you have an opportunity to grow and gain a new experience, jump in! Don’t get so caught up in your work that you forget how to smile, and do things to get you excited every now and then. Like I said earlier, I’m a PR kid and I try to bring the best out of things. See what you want out of your overall experience and go for it! This summer I will be going on my first mission trip with a group of students from my school to Hawaii. Currently, this trip is what is pushing me through the end of this semester. These last few weeks may seem never ending, but find some type of motivation to push you through it. Whether that is a mission trip, going out with friends, or even treating yourself to coffee, enjoy this time!

You’re almost there. You got this. And Remember that the biggest reward isn’t always the destination, it’s the journey along the way.

ohana better

 

 

Leave a Reply

