I’m Not Sorry

A friend of mine once addressed how ridiculous it is how often people apologize for who they are. Not only do I find this so true but it is quite sad.

Often times we are manipulated thinking that we have to act, look, and be certain things in certain ways.

  • I have to have blonde hair because…
  • I have to be a cheerleader because…
  • I have to be a size two because…
  • I have to sit at this lunch table because…
  • I have to be friends with this person because…

BECAUSE…. WHY?

Society has basically brain washed our entire being that we have to have this specific “persona” in order to be accepted into this generation. I believe that it’s time to put an end to that right now.

Personally, I have been victimized of this too. Throughout high school and college one of my biggest struggles have been people pleasing. I love it when others are happy and I try to do my very best to ensure that. However, sometimes I may take it to the extremes. I love people pleasing. I loved being the one that others could be proud of. I loved people seeing me and automatically knowing me for who I was because of *x,y, and z*. And to be honest half of the things that people knew me for I could care less about. I was so addicted to the fact that people knew me for my social status that not many truly understood what actually made me… me.

So after a few years of reflecting on this, attending a university that truly helped me grow and understand myself, and surrounding myself around an amazing support system I was able to finally overcome this.

How?

I let go of the person I wasn’t. I put an end to my need for the satisfaction of others being my (temporary) happiness. I started embracing who I truly was. And…

I Stopped Saying Sorry

I have been incredibly blessed to always have a strong and loving support system that has followed me wherever life’s journey has taken me. Now I am able to look in the mirror and understand and see the person who they have believed, encouraged, and loved all along. I no longer have to be a people pleaser, I no longer have to accomplish certain tasks for satisfaction, and I no longer have to apologize for just being myself anymore because I am loved just for being me.

Psalm 139:14 New International Version (NIV)

14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
    your works are wonderful,
    I know that full well.

This is me

  • I love meeting new people whom I have never talked to before
  • I am addicted to chocolate
  • I love taking pictures
  • I love looking back at memories and telling old stories
  • I prefer calling over texting
  • Face to face communication is number 1 in my book over everything
  • My faith is the most cherished and valuable thing in my life
  • I believe that everyone should try to find the good in others
  • Gossiping and slander is juvenile in my book.
  • Talking about life is one of my favorite past times.
  • When I’m driving is one of my favorite times to pray
  • I can’t wait to be a mom someday
  • I love anything with glitter, pink, or sequins 
  • I believe laughter is the best medicine (especially when it’s loud)
  • I believe that singing is one of the greatest gifts that someone can have because it is one of the many ways you can be unique, beautiful, and different and no one can tell you otherwise because it is something of your own that no one else has.
  • I think that buying a shirt that is over $20 is pointless and stupid
  • Arguing, being negative, and yelling at others in order to “be right” is immature and pointless in my book.
  • I prefer the silent treatment because I believe what is stated above is a waste of time.
  • As much as I love my dogs, I am a cat person.
  • I strangely love doing things that get me outside of my comfort zone and give me the butterflies.
  • Confidence is key. See what you want and go after it. Don’t let how other’s view you control your life.
  • I believe that if you don’t have anything nice to say then don’t say anything at all.
  • I have theeee best friends, family, and support systems that anyone could ask for.
  • I find enjoyment out of bargain hunting. (Black Friday is one of my fav. holidays!)
  • I believe that unity is one of the most important things to ever have in life. Division and seclusion between whatever world you live in will do nothing but tear everything a part.
  • I am basic: I love Starbucks, getting my nails done, and lip gloss.

 

xoxo

And I’m Not Sorry.

 

mn

photo cred: hannah d.

Leave a Reply

