Is this Multiple Choice?

I guarantee you that the first question that almost every student wonders before a teacher hands out a test is, “is this multiple choice?”.

This has literally been theeee question that I have been asking God recently.

I’ve been in a pickle lately.

There have been several situations that have come head on in front of me and I can only think that God has truly been testing me and the devil is waiting for me to crash. It has been a little over a month since my team and I had left for our mission trip to Hawaii- it’s crazy!

While we were in Hawaii we encountered several situations where we just didn’t know what exactly to do just yet except for waiting for God to do His thing. And He did. All we had to do was be patient, pray, and trust Him. This at times was a little out of my comfort zone because I am the type of person that always has to know what we are going to do, how we are going to do it, and when we are going to do it. At the end of the trip the one lesson that stuck with me was that it’s okay not to always have the answers right off the bat.

Part of me wonders if God was trying to test my strength and the other side of me honestly felt like I was being waited upon to fall. It’s been a spiritual battle and I was about to crack. Unfortunately there came a point when I did and a couple of my friends had to experience that with me and I regret that more than anything because they were all materialistic situations that were not important whatsoever.

I grew impatient, bitter, and very negative. 

This was not who I was.

Then I realized that I was leaning on my own understanding, my own accusations, and my own instincts to define these problems and figure out how to solve them. This moment became my “light bulb moment”.

I was leaning on my own understanding.

God tells us to not lean on our own understanding, but in ALL ways acknowledge Him. There HE will show us where to go and what to do. (Proverbs 3:5)

I was growing so impatient that I forgot about God that I didn’t care about anything else. I wanted to fix these problems on my own and I didn’t understand why I was failing over and over.

I was trying to do everything I could choice A, choice B, choice C, choice D and somethings even E and F… If they were options.

These are the little moments that constantly remind me not to jump into conclusions and to realize that God’s way is always the right way.

Instead of bubbling in answers we need to ask for guidance and seek the right way to go rather than trying and failing a million times until we crash and then ask for help.

I know that I’m stubborn and this is something that I’m trying to work on. I know that I can’t do everything on my own, but I am trying.

While looking over a “test” or situation that we are given we need to always look to God for guidance and seek out His way to go about things.

Worrying, bitterness, and arguing isn’t necessary. At the moment we may find that it let’s off some steam but it isn’t worth it. We all know it.

The first moment we see this test right off the bat we need to ask for that help and He will do the rest.

No need for the luck of the draw He’s already got the answer key to it all before we’re even handed the scan-tron. 😉

scan

Psalm 37:4-6New Living Translation (NLT)

Take delight in the Lord,
    and he will give you your heart’s desires.

Commit everything you do to the Lord.
    Trust him, and he will help you.
He will make your innocence radiate like the dawn,
    and the justice of your cause will shine like the noonday sun.

XOXO

Leave a Reply

