Running through the Darkness

Three years ago I had the opportunity to reach for the stars and choose whatever college that I felt called to go to.

Out of all of the colleges, opportunities, and options that I had out in my area, my state, and my comfort zone I choose to attend a university that was about four hours away from my home and none of my friends from my high school had chosen it.

This decision was hard and it was by far from easy.

I wasn’t even planning on going to college. 

My senior year I did this competition for the chance to sign to a talent agency and start working in the music industry. Little did I know that I was going to win and I had already received the offers and my contract in the mail. All I needed to do was sign away.

Performing had become such a huge part of my life over the past 18 years and I couldn’t think of doing anything other than singing. High school was over and a lot of my friends were preparing on going to big state schools and joining sororities and fraternities. I just didn’t want to live in that surrounding anymore.

I signed my contact and I was going to move to Florida. I was ready to start performing for a living and I could not have been anymore satisfied. However, my final year at church camp had opened my eyes that summer.

The camp that I went to every summer had really pushed one of the schools that we were affiliated and they really did seem like a great school. I had already visited, applied, and been accepted. My heart just wasn’t there. Then that year at camp it was as if a light bulb went off in my head that I needed to go to this school and my heart shattered.

All I wanted to do was sing.

God had a different plan. 

Three years later I am preparing to go into my senior year and it has been quite the ride. I have learned how to overcome many obstacles and I have learned how to enhance my problem solving and communication skills with several different types of people. I have also learned how to live in the moment and enjoy this time because after this next year its real life. There is however one thing in particular that my school has truly taught me and that’s how to love people. From the moment I got here in June of 2013 from my freshman orientation til today I have not been showered with anything but love, encouragement, and support from everyone surrounding me. That have guided and mentored me every step of the way and I am ever so thankful for that.

A lot of my friends and I that go to the same school like to call our campus “the bubble” because things are a lot different here. Almost every door you walk through will be opened for you by the guy walking behind you. You will receive random notes of encouragement in your mailbox every week. Every time you see a friend or a relational co-worker, professor, or even faculty member they will not only ask you how you are doing but they really want to get involved in your life.

During this time I have also realized that there is a whole other world outside college. Whether that is another bubble, a work place, or a whole new friend group we will eventually have to leave this nest or bubble.

This past year I had the opportunity to work for a health care organization that is not affiliated with my school or is founded under a faith-based foundation. I meet and talk with all sorts of people. Some of them tell me their life stories. Some just want someone to listen and ask them how their day is going.

Thankfully for my college experience and all that had been invested into me I have been able to take everything that has been poured into me and pour them into others outside my bubble. And my most favorite places to do this are at places where people do not know Jesus.

No I do not quote them with a million Bible scriptures, and I don’t push them to come to my church services every week but I show them kindness and sincerity. I talk to them like they are people and that they matter because they do. I listen to them and I take heart. Working in health care has truly taught me how to care for others on a whole new level. No I am not a nursing or medical major, and no this is not my dream job but I get to explore and live life with people in a whole new way. And I get to show them who Jesus is through me.

Some people may find it kind of intimidating to meet new people, to talk to others whom they have never met before, or to even be the conversation started. I LOVE IT!

This also may be one of the reasons why I choose to be a communication major, but hey it works. Something that I truly wish that every Christian would realize and see for themselves is that there is a world out there hurting and longing for something more. This is a world out there in need of a Savior. They need someone to meet them half way and to show them the light and that there is a hope.

HELLO! THIS IS WHAT WE WERE CALLED TO DO!!!

Sometimes Christians receive a bad rep for only wanting to convert people and not caring but the truth is we kind of are.

How are we suppose to show others that there is a God out there that loves them SO much that He would die for them if we can’t even show half of that love, grace, forgiveness, or even compassion towards them when we talk to them about Him?!

Goodness Gracious.

If we, as Christians, were able to put just the amount of effort into our actions, our minds, and our hearts as much as we do with judgement and our opinions think about how much we could do. TOGETHER.

We are not perfect.

Christians are Not Perfect.

Those who are lost are not perfect.

No One is Perfect.

That is why we ALL need a Savior. That is why we need Jesus. However, we do need to strive to be like Him every single day because of that. This should be a daily reminder.

Whatever your day brings, wherever you are at, and whomever you come into contact with show them the light. Whether you are working in a coffee shop with irritated avid coffee drinkers, consulting with a teacher that is being unfair over an assignment, or even expressing your heart to a coworker who doesn’t have the same beliefs as you do, run through the darkness and show them the light.

That light is through the love of Jesus Christ.

And people will see it.

A cute elderly couple came in one day to the clinic and as they were waiting for their turn to see the doctor we were making small talk.

Before it was their turn to go in the cute old man asked me, “There’s something different about you. Do you know Jesus?”. 

I replied, “Oh, why yes I do”. These are the moments that remind me how blessed I am to shine the light of the Lord wherever I go and to light a way for others to see Him.

Deuteronomy 10:12-19

12 And now, Israel, what does the LORD your God ask of you but to fear the LORD your God, to walk in obedience to him, to love him, to serve the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul, 13 and to observe the LORD’s commands and decrees that I am giving you today for your own good? 14 To the LORD your God belong the heavens, even the highest heavens, the earth and everything in it. 15 Yet the LORD set his affection on your ancestors and loved them, and he chose you, their descendants, above all the nations—as it is today. 16 Circumcise your hearts, therefore, and do not be stiff-necked any longer.17 For the LORD your God is God of gods and Lord of lords, the great God, mighty and awesome, who shows no partiality and accepts no bribes. 18 He defends the cause of the fatherless and the widow, and loves the foreigner residing among you, giving them food and clothing. 19 And you are to love those who are foreigners, for you yourselves were foreigners in Egypt.

woods

Leave a Reply

