One day you’re 17 and planning for someday

At my school we only have about one month left of summer vacation.

I can’t believe it.

What that means for me:

  • I only have one month left of my last summer being student
  • I only have one month left to finish my summer bucket list that I want to accomplish during my final year in college
  • I’m about to adult.

These are only a few of the many thoughts that have been circling my mind these past few weeks. Throughout summer I had also restarted my favorite television show series-

One Tree Hill.

And yes I did finish all 9 seasons again.

I have friends that absolutely love this show with me, and I also have friends that can’t stand it. Personally, OTH is by far my favorite show ever. Not because of the entertainment- although it is entertaining- but because of the lessons and life learning moments that are found and discovered throughout the entire show.

During the beginning of the series we learn about the main characters and their lives, which takes place in high school. They learn and experience many different life lessons concerning life, school, and relationships. A part of their learning process included messing up and learning on their own. This may have been concerning careers, dating, homework, etc.

Today as I finished this show again it really hit me this time.

We experience.

We mess up.

We learn.

We grow.

I have been looking back at so many different points in my life lately and second guessing my choices, my opportunities, and my decisions. I have been stressing over the future and have been trying to mentally prepare for every single possibility that could happen. I’ve been looking back at my mistakes and continuously pondering over the question of what I was thinking. The “what ifs” constantly relapse. And then here I am reminded:

I am 21 years old and I am about to be a senior in college.

And its okay.

It’s okay not to have all the answers.

And it’s okay to not know all of the answers all of the time

This is when I realized to make the most of every moment instead because worrying gets you nowhere. I took a step back and realized that I have so many amazing people in my life that others only dream to have. I know that I am loved and cared for. And because of that I shouldn’t be worrying about every detail and spec of negativity.

I know that I’m going to mess up. I’m going to make mistakes. And I’m going to fall.

However, I am going to learn and grow.

In the mean time I am going to take every chance that I get and make the most of them. I am going to tell those in my life that I care for that I love them and I am going to show them. I am going to be silly and make a fool of myself just to make others laugh because it makes them feel good. I’m going to give myself the short end of the stick sometimes because that means I can help someone else a little more and it will help out a friend. I’m going to put myself out there and be spontaneous. I’m going to do things that may make myself feel like a total idiot just so I can say that I tried.

 may be different for everyone but for me the most valuable treasures that I have in my life on this earth are my relationships with others. And I wouldn’t trade the world for them either. I am going to fight and do what it takes to continue building them.

Life is way too short to worry, stress, and cry over the little things. Take a chance, find what you want, and do it. Fight for it. You’ll never know unless you try.

What’s really important in your life?

This has been the main question.

Are you willing to fight for it?

Is it worth it?

Why is it important?

I don’t know about anyone else but I’m going to take every chance I get to fight for it.

“Sometimes I think that we waste our words and we waste our moments. And we don’t take the time to say what’s on our hearts when we have the chance”, One Tree Hill.

It’s okay to be scared sometimes, but don’t let the fear control you. Take control of that fear and just do it.

 In the words of a girl with a great first name, “Don’t waste another moment. Say it. Do it. Don’t Wait. Nothing lasts forever”.

xoxo

river

Leave a Reply

