You Have Less Than 24 Hours

A lot of people have asked me what I had planned after graduation. My first response was well.. working. I have worked full time jobs since I was about 19 years old. This is the second year that I have worked two full time jobs at the same time.

Within the past three days I have already worked over 50 hours between the two jobs that I am currently working. Some people ask me if I’m crazy. I may be.

However, in less than 24 hours I will be preparing to board a plane to serve the people of Hawaii by being the hands and feet of Jesus Christ. These past three days have not been easy. I’m tired, hungry, and a little irritated sometimes. Sometimes I even forget that I shouldn’t be this stressed anymore because I just graduated college. However, some advice from my favorite professor at Olivet continuously played through my head during this time.

“It’s a daily thing. We daily have to pick up our crosses and remember that we aren’t just doing this for ourselves anymore. We are living for Him”.

So during this time I continuously reminded myself of that truth. And although it was hard at the moment. It’s all going to be worth it. I’m going to be serving, loving, and pursuing a community of people through the heart of Jesus and nothing excites me more than the fact that I get to do it with some pretty great people with me.

The one prayer that I am also continuing to lean on is God’s purpose for me through serving others. As a college graduate, I still have a lot of questions- although school is over.

I want to know why God has put the passions on my heart and how He is planning to use them through me.

I want to know how I can be used by God and how He wants me to lead others to Him.

I want to understand more of why He gave me this life specifically to live.

I hope that God gives me more clarity on this trip by serving Him and others. Although there is a good chance that I’ll just have to trust Him and understand that I don’t need to know everything. And I struggle with that. I like to have my planner and put everything to pen and paper, and know what exactly is going to happen next so I can prepare. But sometimes that isn’t always in my favor.

Thankfully, God has taught me how to trust in Him when I’m anxious, scared, or confused in impromptu situations- especially speeches (shout out to my COMM family for also helping with that).

My biggest prayer for this trip is for me to learn how to lean on God through all things, and not just for these next 3 weeks. I want to stop depending on myself and letting fear become a component in my life because of my choice of being more self sustaining than leaning on the Lord.

I have less than 24 hours until I depart with my team for this trip and I can’t be anymore excited for the Lord to do what He has already had planned long ago. If you would pray for me and my requests I talked about earlier, my team, and the people on the Big Island to grow hungry for the love of Jesus I would be forever grateful.

I also have the opportunity to go back and love the people and place that God brought me to last year that helped me grow and understand Him and myself after a very difficult year of hardship. I know that during this trip God is going to move mountains, build bridges, and restore lives.

Join in prayer with us, Ohana. Hilo-Ha Ohana

Let’s watch God amaze us.

Aloha Ke Akua.

-Brooke Allison

 

Leave a Reply

