To the Woman who Allowed God to Redirect Her Dreams so this Little Girl Could Live Her’s, Thank You

A couple days ago I had a conversation with a woman who is quite a bit older than I am. We were talking about different events that had taken place within our families and the conversation took on new a direction that kind of blind sighted me.

I grew up in a family where money wasn’t always the strong point of our household. My family is a pretty traditional midwest family for the most part. However, there is something a little different about my family that isn’t as common anymore.

I grew up with a full time stay at home mom.

There is no way, shape or form, where my siblings or I could have wanted that any differently either.

You see if you knew anything about my family, or even myself you would know that my mom rocks and she is a huge part of my family’s foundation and our faith.

My mom is the most patient, kind, understanding, forgiving, loving, supporting, uplifting, comforting, energetic, humble, spiritual, and Christlike person I know.

And that’s just the beginning.

She embodies the Fruits of the Spirit and sets the example of what a Proverbs 31 Woman looks like to a T.

For many people that don’t really know my story or background and only hear the portion about how I grew up in a family with not a lot of money and with a mom who didn’t work while her kids were growing up when we could have used extra income and judge my family’s decisions for the way my siblings and I were raised, I feel sorry for you.

I feel sorry for you because you have no idea how my family is actually extremely blessed because we endured the trials and struggles that were placed in front of us, and along the way we were also blessed with so much more because of our faith in God and listened to what He called us to do throughout our time in the storms.

You see, my mom could have gotten a job like any other strong powered woman with kids. She went to college and has work experience. My mom is smart and quick to pick up on new skills too. She is very hard working and you won’t outwork her. But you know what she also is?

She is spiritually led and a woman of God.

Now, by saying this I don’t just mean that she goes to church every Sunday and she volunteers at random food drives and Vacation Bible School every summer.

I mean she commits all her decisions to the Lord before she takes any action. Daily, she spends time with the Lord in prayer building her relationship with Him and strengthening her faith which moves mountains. I know that because a lot of those mountains were mine.

If there’s one thing that I’ve learned out so far out of all of my 24 years of life it’s that there is nothing greater in this life than a mother who is willing to fight for her children through the power of God and prayer. I have the most strongest prayer warrior in my life and it is the biggest privilege to call her Mom.

Our close bond did not happen overnight. Like any other child I was stubborn. When I was a teenager I was a brat and acted out like any other 16 year old. And I would be in complete denial if I said neglected to say that I still don’t make all the best decisions sometimes, but that’s life. And even when I don’t make the best decisions, my mom is always there for me with open arms to comfort me, forgive me, love me, and accept me like the prodigal child I can be.

Because that’s what Christ calls us to do.

That’s what the Church is called to do.

Each and every one of us.

I grew up in the Church, went to church camp every summer as a kid, was very involved in Christian clubs, and even went to a four year Christian university (by my own choice).

However, it was through my mom how I was able to learn about Jesus and what it means to live a life that follow Christ.

As Christians, we are called to sacrifice a lot and to go to places that feel uncomfortable.

All of this is for the hope that the love of Jesus is found in this hopeless and fallen world.

Story time: I’m a navy brat. This means that I came from a military family and my dad served in the Navy. A little before I was born my dad was stationed out in Asia and one of the places he was able to experience was the Philippines. During his time there he met a very loud, energetic, and life- loving girl who I now call, Mom. Their story didn’t happen overnight but it was quick and very God-led. It wasn’t easy but love was never intended to be. However, it was worth it.

My parents fell in love and my mom left all that she ever known- truly led and guided by faith- and moved to the other side of the world to a whole new continent where she had never been to do what the Lord called her to do. She sacrificed being in the comfort of her home, her family and friends, and better finances to move to America with a man that God called to love her and to start our family.

In addition to moving to a whole new place with no support system that she knew except my dad and my brother, she felt that the Lord was calling her to be a full time mom.

During this time, she could have taken the opportunity to reinvent herself and live “The American Dream” but she didn’t. She knew that God was calling her to do something greater than what herself could ever create for her.

He called her to fill one of the most greatest roles that a woman could ever do. He called her to raise change makers, world changers, and followers of Christ that would go out into the world and change the status quo of wherever God would lead them.

He called her to invest in some of His most greatest creations and teach them the truth and not of the ways of this world that could lead to greed, jealousy, hatefullness, emptiness, and unrealistic fulfilment.

He called her to teach them love, patience, kindness, goodness and self control. He called her to show them how to forgive others that have ultimately hurt them and how to spread the love of Jesus even when it hurts.

He called her to raise warriors of God to go out into the world and carry a candle running into the darkness where others are scared to go so that the lost might be found and that nations would know the name of Jesus and the Gospel would be heard.

I know this because you are hearing from the point of view from a girl who used to be sitting in a high school classroom and she had teachers continually tell her that she’d never be good enough in her desired professions… and at the time she believed them.

I never thought that I would have conquered the battles that were placed in front of me, or would have experienced the goodness of God like I have if it weren’t for the angel that He gave me for a mother.

The other day I was reflecting and made a list of all of the things that God has given me the opportunity to experience because of goodness and faithfulness.

  • Getting my first job at 16
  • Going to a four year Christian university right out of high school ( fun fact: Olivet was one of the biggest blessings that God has ever given me)
  • The opportunity of being a college athlete and playing tennis at Olivet
  • Going on two mission trips to Hawaii
  • Working for the Chicago Bears
  • All of the leadership opportunities I was given in college
  • Receiving a Bachelor of Science for Public Relations and Strategic Communications within four years
  • Only have ONE SEMESTER left until I receive my masters degree for my MBA
  • Interning at the Walt Disney Company
  • Moving to Southern California
  • There’s not enough room on this blog to continue how much God really loves me but I think you get the picture ❤

All of these things and more I believe I was able to accomplish because of the woman that God put in my life as my mom. I firmly believe that I would not be who I am today, have the values that I have, or the mindset that I have if it wasn’t for her decision to sacrifice her dreams and letting God redirect her in being a mother.

And honestly, I feel like that’s what it’s supposed to be like when one is a parent.

It’s all about sacrifice.

No, I am not a parent yet, but I hope to be one day. And if there is anything that I have learned throughout my life its that a true woman of God and godly parent sacrifices all of their ways, and desires for whatever God is calling them to do.

John 3:30 New Living Translation (NLT)

30 He must become greater and greater, and I must become less and less.

And maybe for some that just means only being a parent and putting your dreams on hold because God has something greater.

This does not mean that one is not capable of being a parent and holding a full time job at this same time. This means that one is strong enough to sacrifice whatever it takes including their heart’s deepest desires to raise their kids how the Lord wants them to.

This does not mean that one is lazy and doesn’t have the drive to go out and make a living. This means that one is intentional with the long term effects of their actions and want the future for the seeds that they are planting to grow to be strong and meaningful.

We live in a society that constantly tells us that we have to be more- more successful, more rich, more popular, more busy… but what’s the purpose of that? To become stretched thin and burnt out? What is the value?

Just because you see women working full time jobs as the VP of Marketing for an editorial firm, teach yoga on the weekends, have book clubs every Tuesday, and still manage to run back and forth to soccer practices does not mean that you have to do the same.

You have the right to do whatever your heart desires and that is what true freedom is. Do not let culture norms and the opinions of society dictate your heart, your opinions, your decisions, and above all else, your faith.

Do whatever is on your heart that makes you feel fulfilled and happy to your calling- whether that is always being on the go and having a busy schedule, or just being a full time stay at home mom.

Stop trying to do the “more” and just focus on what God is calling you to do right now. We all have different callings and that’s more than okay.

For my mom… her calling was to be a full- time stay at home mom.

And that’s okay.

It’s more than okay actually, because her decision and obedience to God with that helped mold me and shape my faith and values who I am today.

And you know what?

When we’re obedient and listen to whatever God calls us to do… He’ll take care of us and do the rest. This could mean finances, resources, relationships restored, job promotions, healings, etc. He has the ability to do it ALL.

We just need to be obedient to those calls that He gives us and trust Him.

God is always on the move. He brings new things into our lives everyday. Now that my siblings and I are grown now, He more than likely has pretty cool plans for my mom now.. I say watch out because I think my mom is going to blow some people out of the water with what God has in store for her next.

We all have our own callings and purposes. This was a part of my mom’s. This was also a part of mine.

Don’t compare your calling to someone else’s because it’s not your life to design- that’s God’s job.

Personally, I want to be a mom more than ever one day. As of right now, I don’t think I’ll be the type that would want to be a full time stay at home mom because I do have the type A millennial personality.. But God may have different plans. And I’m okay with that.

All I know is that this was one of the most bravest things for me to see… Seeing my mom lay everything down for the Lord’s call for her life.

It’s my biggest prayer that one day when I do become a mom that I can be at least half of the woman that she is today- and to have a lot of her patience because I struggle with that sometimes.. lol

So the next time you hear a woman say that she is or was a full- time stay at home mom… AND she knows that Lord…

Thank her.

I wouldn’t be who I am today without the women like her and I know there’s a lot of others out there too.

So here’s a special thank you note to all the mothers out there who sacrifice their everything everyday so that their children know that they are loved and valued by them and the Lord, Thank you.

We wouldn’t be the same without you.

Thank you for everything.

Love you, Mom.

2 thoughts on “To the Woman who Allowed God to Redirect Her Dreams so this Little Girl Could Live Her’s, Thank You

  1. Sheri Evans says:

    Wow Brooke, I was a fan before, but after reading words from your grateful heart- I am so blessed that I took the time to absorb your message. You added validation to choices I made as a mom and gives me hope. Your future is bright and woven with the cloth of God’s love and strength. Well done.

    Like

Leave a comment