Here I am, send me.

It’s been a good while since I have posted a blog- sorry about that!

The last time that you all heard from me was when I posted about my mission trip that I had recently arrived from, Hawaii.

It has finally start to hit me that I am not a “traditional undergraduate” college student anymore. However, I am getting my master’s degree this fall but it won’t be as eventful as my undergraduate experience- so I think.

Recently I have felt like God has been leading me down a different path for my        “life after college”. I received my bachelor of science degree in public relations and strategic communications. I learned that I am very creative and a visual learner. I also learned that I am very interpersonal and enthusiastic. I love people and getting to connect with others any way possible.

During these past couple of months I have been really contemplating what it truly is that God has planned for my life.

I noticed that I had a tendency to find specific puzzle pieces and try to do whatever I can to piece them together to work.

This was when I recognized another part of me. According to the Enneagram, I am an achiever (Number 3). I do my best to succeed, I’m a motivator, and authentic. I try my hardest to be the best me that I can be, I hardly take no for an answer, and when I set my mind for something I go for it.

While I was trying to seek who this person is that God created me to be, I also learned that I have a tendency to be a workaholic and even success conscious. I try so hard to piece these puzzles together that I neglect to see that God already gave me every single piece that I need to see the bigger picture. I just needed to look down and accept it.

Two months ago I thought that I wanted to work for a big entertainment firm or company and work up to a position that eventually led to seeing my name in big lights and bigger paychecks. I started letting titles and labels to consume me again and lost sight of the bigger picture.

I started to make myself anxious and really stressed again because I tried to start making piece fit that either weren’t ready to be put in the puzzle yet, or one’s that didn’t belong in the first place.

Thankfully, I have quite a few amazing mentors in my life that have done nothing but encourage me and remind me about the incredible God that we serve and how I have nothing to fear because HE is our refuge and strength.

And instead of being focused on job titles, awards and achievements, and the size of my paycheck God reminded me about a deep passion that He had laid on my heart long ago. To this day I am striving to not get blind sighted by any distractions that may lead me off course. I am going to invest in others through the gifts that God has given me through communications and my heart. There are a couple different doors that have been placed in my path since graduation and until God opens one of them I will be patient and trust in the Lord.

God is within her, she will not fall; God will help her at the break of day.

The Lord Almighty is with us; the God of Jacob is our fortress. Come and see what the Lord has done, the desolations he has brought on the earth. He makes the wars cease to the ends of the earth. He breaks the bow and shatters the spear; he burns the shields with fire.

He says, “Be still and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”

The Lord Almighty is with us; the God of Jacob is our fortress,” Psalms 46:5-11.

There is nothing that my God cannot do.

Be on the lookout to see where God leads me next and I will be in touch soon about the journey as well!

xoxo.

grad

Leave a comment